These Are a Few of My Favorite Things: January 2021

Here are some of my favorite things in January. We’ve got five tv shows.

[WARNING: SPOILERS DOWN BELOW]

TV SHOWS

1.) Boys Over Flowers

Image result for boys over flowers

This is a Korean adaptation of the Japanese manga series Hana Yori Dango. Years ago, I watched the Taiwanese adaptation called Meteor Garden, but had never been able to watch this adaptation. So when I saw it was on Netflix, I just had to check it out. I had heard a lot about it and I haven’t watched many Korean dramas, but I really wanted to give it a try. This is such a fun show and while I haven’t finished it, I’m loving the story.
While I already knew the relationship between the main couple (in this adaptation they’re named Jun-pyo and Jan-di) is toxic, I still can’t help, but love them. I think the actors who play Jun-pyo and Jan-di have great chemistry and bring these two characters to life. The rest of the cast is just as great and I can’t wait to finish this show.

likedit

2.) Glow Up

Image result for glow up netflix poster

When I found this show on Netflix, I wasn’t sure if I was gonna like it, but it quickly grew on me and I quickly binged the first season. For someone who doesn’t really do their own makeup, I always find it fascinating to watch others do makeup. I completely beleive that makeup is an art and the makeup artists in this show are so talented and it’s just really fun watching them try these challenges each episode.
This is a simple competition show, but a fun one to watch and I can’t wait to see what happens in season two.

likedit

3.) Julie and the Phantoms

Image result for julie and the phantoms netflix poster

I had heard so much hype online about this show and I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started it. At first, I didn’t think it’d be for me because it felt like a Disney Channel show, which makes sense since Kenny Ortega is the brains behind this show. Now, while it does have those Disney Channel elements, it’s such a fun show, with heart and amazing music. The cast is incredible, lead by the brilliant Madison Reyes. The way each character is fleshed out is done well and each character feels relatable. The music is so catchy and just showcases how talented the cast of this show is.
Right now, Netflix hasn’t announced a second season, but I’m really hoping they make a second season because I love this show and these characters so much and I need to know what happens next.

lovedit

4.) Meteor Garden

Image result for meteor garden 2018 poster

I didn’t know this adaptation of Hana Yori Dango existed, but when I saw it on Netflix and realized it was an updated adaption of the Taiwanese version from the early 2000’s, but in Chinese, I was immediately intrigued. The hardest part for me with this version of Meteor Garden was the fact that I know the original so well and it was hard not to compare the two. I do think the actors that portray Dong Shancai and Daoming Si do a great job and have great chemistry. Everyone in this cast does a great job and while it’s still hard for me to seperate the Taiwanese version from this one, I enjoy this one and can’t wait to finish it.

lovedit

5.) Nailed It!

Image result for nailed it netflix poster

I have heard so much about this show and finally checked it out and it’s so funny. Nicole Byer is an amazing host who makes each episode so fun and entertaining. Watching these inexperienced bakers try to make these professional cakes and sweets is just so hilarious. Now some people do do a decent job, but otheres are just hilariously bad. I do have to give each contestant props for going on this show because I know I wouldn’t be able to do it. I still have a season and a half left, and I can’t wait to watch more, it’s such a treat to watch.

likedit

Leave a comment