DANCING WITH THE STARS RECAP: “The Pleasures May Have Been Guilty, But the Dancing Was Fun”

DwtSRecaps

Season 25, Episode 4 “Guilty Pleasure Night”

Tonight was “Guilty Pleasures Night” and this was a really fun night. I’d say the dancing tonight, while fun, was pretty average, with the exception of one performance. The opening number they did was really enjoyable to watch. It was fun and gave a great sneak peek of everyone’s guilty pleasures.
Now let’s look at these performances one by one.

[Spoilers Below]

1.) Drew and Emma
So Drew’s guilty pleasure was True Crime shows, which I can relate to because I myself love to watch True Crime shows, now as for the dance it was really good. Drew did just as good as he did last week. I think his confidence in not only himself, but his steps has improved nicely. I really liked the lift they did near the end of the routine and I loved the intensity on Drew’s face during the whole performance. I’m just really enjoying his progression and find myself excited to see how he does each show. 
Final Judges Score:
23

2.) Derek and Sharna
Derek’s guilty pleasure was The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. I did like the routine, but it didn’t “wow” me. I feel like Derek and Sharna have done better dances. I think it might have had to do with the music. I don’t fully think it worked for this type of dance, but I loved how much fun they both looked like they were having. 
Final Judges Score:
21

3.) Victoria and Val
Victoria’s guilty pleasure was the song Tubthumping by Chumbawamba. The story behind why this song is Victoria’s guilty pleasure was sad, yet uplifting. I totally get why she feared this dance, but I think she did a really great job. It wasn’t perfect and I did notice her movements weren’t as quick as I’m sure she wished they were, but I think they hid that well and this was a cute routine. 
Final Judges Score:
22

4.) Vanessa and Maks
Vanessa’s guilty pleasure was basically Girl’s Night. Maks wasn’t able to be there, so Vanessa danced with Alan. I still don’t like Vanessa’s routines starting off with basically a group number and then it goes to her doing the one on one dance. I want them to change it up with her routines. I still think Vanessa did a great job and she handled the transitions from the lifts back to the dancing very nicely. Although the beginning of the lifts were a little rough. Not my favorite of her performances, but still a solid routine.
Final Judges Score:
23

5.) Nikki and Artem
Nikki’s guilty pleasure was Romance Novels. I really liked this performance a lot more than last weeks. I felt Nikki brought the intensity and fire to this performance. I will agree with Carrie Ann that she did take control of the dance and she does needs to do a better job at letting Artem have the control. Also it was really cute to see John there supporting Nikki. I think Nikki was a little underscored here. I think she should have at least gotten one 8. 
Final Judges Score:
21

6.) Frankie and Witney
Frankie’s guilty pleasure was Boy Bands. I think last week’s routine was better, but I loved how much fun it looked like Frankie and Witney were having. One of the things I love about this pair is how much fun and energy they bring to each dance. Also, can’t believe they showed some old footage of Frankie singing to some boy band song. So funny, but also why do you all have to embarrass poor Frankie like that? 
Final Judges Score:
21

7.) Lindsey and Mark
Lindsey’s guilty pleasure was Pajamas. I feel so bad for Lindsey. I can’t imagine having to deal with this competition/learning new routines while also dealing with a breakup. Now when it come to the dance, these two killed it. This was such a fun and entertaining routine. Lindsey looked like she was having the time of her life and I think this might be my favorite performance from her. Also these two scored three 9’s, the first of this season.
Final Judges Score:
27

8.) Sasha and Gleb
Sasha’s guilty pleasure was Baking. This was a really fun performance and I think each time Sasha performs her confidence grows. I do think her performance last week was a bit stronger than this week. I would have liked to have seen more contact, but overall still a fun performance. I don’t agree with her getting a 19 from the judges. I think it was a bit better than a 19.
Final Judges Score:
19

9.) Nick and Peta
Nick’s guilty pleasure was Romantic Comedies. I do think Nick is improving, but he’s doing it very slowly. I wish he was progressing like Drew is because I feel like Nick is really committed to this. I did like that it seemed Nick was really enjoying himself during this performance and I hope he can grow a little quicker because if he doesn’t I don’t see him staying for much longer. 
Final Judges Score:
21

10.) Terrell and Cheryl
Terrell’s guilty pleasure was Break Dancing. I didn’t really like it. I mean it looked like a fun routine, but it just didn’t seem to have any life to it. Terrell just looked like he was doing the movements with a smile on his face, but his face looked a little vacant to me. It just wasn’t that impressive to me. Also, I don’t agree with the judges final score for this one.
Final Judges Score:
21

11.) Jordan and Lindsay
Jordan’s guilty pleasure was Comic Books. This was a really fun routine and you could tell that Jordan and Lindsay were having a lot of fun performing it. With that said, I didn’t love it. I don’t know why I didn’t love it. There was just something about it that I didn’t connect to, which shocks me because I love comic books so I felt like I should have loved it, but I didn’t. It was very good technically, but it just didn’t connect with me. 
Final Judges Score:
 25

Dance of the Night: This was a not hard decision for me to make. Lindsey and Mark had the best dance of the night without question. Everything about their routine was perfect and that’s why they are at the top of the leader board this week. 

Overall fun, but average night. There was no elimination tonight and not really sure why. I don’t know if it had to do with maybe time constraint or given the tragedy that happened yesterday they just wanted to give everyone a fun night of dancing without the anxiety of an elimination. Whichever the reason, 11 couples have another week to get your votes and be safe from elimination. Go vote and I’ll talk to you all next week.

 

Leave a Reply

