Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast (2017)

Image result for beauty and the beast

So, today I went, and saw the Disney remake of Beauty and the Beast, and I loved it.

[Spoilers Below]

The cast was great. I remember being a little hesitant about Emma Watson playing Belle because I wasn’t sure if she could sing. I mean, I knew she would be able to act the part, but the singing was the part that left me conflicted. While I wasn’t blown away by her voice, I felt her voice fit with her version of Belle.

Dan Stevens did a great job at being the Beast and just like with Emma, I wasn’t sure about his singing voice either, or if I would like the CGI Beast. There were a couple times that I wasn’t in love with the CGI, but overall it didn’t ruin the movie for me. His voice was also really good.

All the servants in the film were great. I particularly liked Ewan McGregor as Lumiere. I liked Emma Thompson as Mrs. Potts, but it was a bit weird to hear her voice instead of Angela Lansbury. It’ll probably take me some time to get used to Emma’s version of the song “Beauty and the Beast”, but she still did a great job.

I really enjoyed Luke Evans as Gaston and Josh Gad as LeFou. I went into this movie knowing about LeFou being gay and honestly, if I hadn’t known going into this movie, I probably wouldn’t have noticed. I mean, there were moments that it’s hinted, but not overly shown. I mean, I understand why it wasn’t overly shown, but still it wasn’t obvious.

The new songs were good and I’m definitely going have to listen to the soundtrack. The other thing I really loved about this movie was the fact that we got more backstory on Belle and the Beast. The story of Belle’s mom dying and her father having to leave them. Then the reason that the Beast is the way he is, is because his mom died and his father was a dick was really helpful to understand his character better. I also liked that the movie explained why the servants were still so loyal to the Beast even though he’s so mean to them. It was interesting to me to hear Mrs. Potts explain that they felt they deserved it because they let his father treat him so bad.

Overall, I really loved this movie, it did have it’s minor hiccups, but that didn’t take me out of the experience and I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD, so that I can watch it again.

I would give Beauty and the Beast 4.5outof5Stars and would highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

