Book Review: milk and honey by rupi kaur

Image result for milk and honey

So I am not a big poetry person, I mean I appreciate it, but it’s hard for me to read. Which is why I usually shy away from poetry/poetry collections, but I had heard so many good things about Milk and Honey that when I saw it a store recently I decided to get it. Then randomly today I started to read it and holy crap this was so good.

[slight spoilers down below]

The poems in this book are beautifully written and the journey Rupi Kaur takes you on in each section is so tragic, yet hopeful. There are so many parts/poems that stick out to me in this book, but I think her sections The Breaking and The Healing hit me the most and I felt I could relate to them more than the other sections.

The two that stick out to me are:
“i don’t know what living with a balanced life feels like
when i am sad
i don’t cry i pour
when i am happy
i don’t smile i glow
when i am angry
i don’t yell i burn” (pg. 109)

Then the other one was:
“the thing about writing is
i can’t tell if it’s healing
or destroying me” (pg. 148)

With the first poem, I could relate to that section so much because that’s how I am. To me it meant that she doesn’t have a middle ground with her emotions, that her emotions go from 0 to 100 which I can relate to. When I’m really emotional, there is no middle ground for me.

The second poem spoke to me because as someone who loves to write and continues to struggle with her writing, the thought of her being conflicted on whether or not her writing is helping or hurting is actually something I’ve struggled with and felt before. Writing is never easy, it is complex, and can be a very emotional experience, so her suggesting it might heal you or destroy you was so powerful to me.

Lastly, I also really loved the little sketches that went with the poems. I think they really added some context to the poems and helped you visualize what she was trying to express with her words.

Overall, loved the book, going to give it 5outof5Stars. I would definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

