Book Review: Black Canary, Vol. 1 by Brenden Fletcher, Annie Wu, Pia Guerra, Lee Loughridge

Image result for black canary vol 1 kicking and screaming

So, I’m not a big graphic novels kind of girl, but because of the CW show Arrow I’ve become a big fan of the Black Canary. So, when I saw this at Barnes & Noble, I had to have it because I wanted to read a story about her.

I’m not sure what I was expecting, but Dinah being the lead singer of a band, wasn’t it. That’s not a shot against the story because it was actually really intriguing reading about Dinah being a part of this band and her trying to figure out how to be the face of this band, which of course is called Black Canary. Now, obviously danger happens and it’s mainly because of their band member Ditto. Ditto is wanted by both the creatures she is like and also by Amanda Waller. The way the story is told of Dinah desperately wanting to protect Ditto and her bandmates is really enjoyable and heartwarming. The art style of this book is really pretty and I love the way Annie Wu drew not only Dinah, but all the characters.
Overall, this was really fun and I think a good start for me in my dive into not only graphic novels, but ones about the Black Canary. Also, they released a three song EP and it’s pretty awesome as well.
I give Black Canary, Vol. 1 a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

