Movie Review: Suicide Squad (SPOILERS)

I mainly went into this movie wanting to see how Margot Robbie did at bringing my favorite comic book character to life, Harley Quinn. I have loved Harley since I was a little girl and I’m 24 now. So, seeing Harley finally come to the big screen excited and terrified me.

After seeing the movie, I can say that I really enjoyed Margot Robbie as Harley. I wasn’t in love with her, but I felt she had the spirit of Harley, if that makes sense. She was crazy, fun, bubbly, and vulnerable, everything I need to be satisfied with a Harley Quinn performance.

Now, her relationship with Joker, plus Jared Leto’s performance was something else I was really interested in seeing. Heath Ledger remains my favorite live action Joker performance and I like Jared Leto as an actor, so I had faith that he could pull off Joker. One of my main problems with the movie is that, to me, there wasn’t enough Joker for me to really form an opinion of Leto’s version. I’m still iffy on how I feel about the way they portrayed Joker & Harley’s relationship. I did hate that they flew through Harley’s transition from Dr. Quinzel  to the Harley Quinn we know. I loved hearing her say “Puddin” and “Mr. J”, but they felt weird to me and I blame that on how fast they flew through their relationship.

Now, on to the other characters. Viola Davis was perfect casting for Amanda Waller. I loved Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flag, but then again I’m pretty biased when it comes to him. Cara Delevingne was good, but I just didn’t care about her. I mean I was hoping she wasn’t the villain like everyone thought and when it was revealed she was I just kind of rolled my eyes at that. Will Smith was really fun as Deadshot. He was amusing and was a lot better than I expected. I wasn’t sure about him as Deadshot when it was announced that he was cast, but he did really well. Jai Courtney was fun as Captain Boomerang and I enjoyed Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje as Killer Croc and Karen Fukuhara as Katana, but I wish we could have seen and learned more about them.

I knew Slipknot was going to be the sacrificial lamb based solely on the trailers. He was barely in anything so I quickly realized that he was going to be the one that would die to show everyone that Waller and Flag meant business. I was so sad when El Diablo sacrificed himself to save everyone. I really liked his character, Jay Hernandez did a great job of playing him. I also liked the development of his character, plus learning about his backstory hurt, but also helped explain why he didn’t want to use his powers.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie, but wasn’t in love with it like I had hoped.

I give Suicide Squad 3.5outof5Stars.

Leave a Reply

