Top Picks of 2015: Top 14 Movies

This is a list of the top 14 movies that I saw for the first time this year. Now, not all of these movies came out this year, but this year was the first time I saw them.
So, let’s get started with #14

14.) Magic Mike XXL (Run Time: 115 minutes, Saw it when it came out on July 1st)

Now, when I saw the first Magic Mike, I thought it was  a fun movie and had a good time. When I heard they were making a sequel, I couldn’t help, but think, “….why?” It just didn’t make sense to me to make a sequel, but they did anyway and I honestly enjoyed it as much as I did the first. There honestly wasn’t much of a story, in my opinion, compared to the first movie. It was just a simple road trip movie with male strippers.

13.) Insurgent (Run Time: 119 minutes, Saw it when it came out on March 20th)

First and foremost, I should warn you that I haven’t read the books. Which is unusual for me since I usually always try to read the book before I go see the movie adaptation, but with this series that has not been the case. Now, Divergent, I enjoyed a lot. Insurgent on the other hand fell a little flat to me. It was still enjoyable, but not as much as Divergent was. It just didn’t grip me and hold my attention like the first movie had. I’m really hoping Allegiant will be better, but who knows.

12.) Kingsman: The Secret Service (Run Time: 129 minutes, Saw it in May & it came out on February 13th)

Now, I wasn’t completely sure what to expect when I saw this movie, but I knew I wanted to watch it. This movie was so entertaining and action packed. It had it’s moments of ridiculousness, but that didn’t take away from the enjoyment I felt watching this movie and long after I finished it.

11.) Horns (Run Time: 120 minutes, saw it in January & it came out on October 31st)

I remember seeing trailers for this movie and thinking it looked interesting and creepy. Well, after seeing it earlier this year, I can say it is definitely weird, interesting, and very creepy. It’s not a movie you can just watch once, I’ve watched it a couple times and it still creeps me the hell out, but that might have to do with the fact I’m a huge baby.

10.) Paper Towns (Run Time: 109 minutes, saw it when it came out on July 24th)

When I went to see Paper Towns, I wasn’t sure what to expect because I was in the middle of reading the book when I went to see it & honestly, I wasn’t really enjoying the book. I hoped that the movie would bring me more enjoyment than the book had been at the time when I saw the movie and it did. Paper Towns was really good and I had a lot of fun with this movie. One of the shocking things was that the movie made me kind of like Margo, but I think that had to do with Cara’s acting. I’ve since bought the movie & rewatched it and it was just as good as when I saw it in theaters.

9.) Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Run Time: 136 minutes, saw it in May & it came out on April 4th, 2014)

Okay, I will admit that I really didn’t want to see Captain America 2 because I was not a huge fan of the first Cap movie. Eventually, I realized that I’d have to watch the second film to really understand what was happening with Steve and Natasha’s characters in the next Avengers and I can honestly say that I’m glad I watched The Winter Soldier. This movie was so much better than the first one. The whole film held my attention better than the first. I found the first film to be so boring and just not entertaining at all. Now, that I’ve watched it, I’m even more pumped to see Civil War this year.

8.) Birdman (Run time: 119 mintues, saw it in March & it came out October 17, 2014)

During award season in 2015, all I heard about was how amazing Birdman was. So, earlier this year, I bought it & my brother and I watched it. This movie was so good, but also so bizarre. The ending left me confused as hell, but the thing that I think I loved the most about this was movie was how it was shot. The cinematography was fantastic and is what I think made this film so different from the rest of the films on my list.

7.) When Marnie Was There (Run Time: 103 minutes, saw it in April & it came out on February 27th)

I adore Studio Ghibli films and this one was just as good as all their other films. The story that is told with Anna’s character and how she feels is quite relatable. It was a beautiful story that had interesting characters and touched my heart.

6.) Guardians of the Galaxy (Run Time: 122 minutes, saw it in May & it came out on August 1st, 2014)

For some reason my brother and I did not go see this in theater, even though we both agreed it looked really good. We did eventually see it this year and I think this may have become my favorite Marvel movie. The cast is amazing and the humor is perfect. I can not wait for the sequel because I’m confident that it will be as good as this one.

5.) Avengers: Age of Ultron (Run Time: 141 minutes, saw it when it came out on May 1st)

I was really looking forward to the second Avengers movie and it didn’t disappoint. Loved this movie and sure there were some minor things that annoyed me, but those things did not take away from my enjoyment of this movie and my excitement for what’s next to come.

4.) 12 Rounds 3: Lockdown (Run Time: 90 minutes, saw it on September 12th & it came out on September 11th)

Now, if you’ve read my review of this movie then you are probably shocked as hell to see it not only so high on my list, but on my list at all. Well, after I posted my review, I watched the film and while it still had it’s issues, I just can’t take away from the fact that it’s just an entertaining movie. I recently bought it on DVD and watched it again and was reminded of how much I really do enjoy this movie.

3.) Gone Girl (Run Time: 149 minutes, saw it in April & it came out on October 3rd, 2014)

I saw this movie when my dad bought it and oh my god, it was so good. This is another film where I haven’t read the book yet, but do plan on sometime in the future. This movie was suspenseful, thrilling, and just plain disturbing. The acting was phenomenal, especially Rosamund Pike. Holy crap, she was amazing.

2.) The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 (Run Time: 137 minutes, saw it on November 19th & it came out on November 20th)

I knew the last movie in the Hunger Games movies was going to hurt since I had read the book and guess what? It did hurt….a lot. They did such a great job at bringing the end of this series to an end and was so faithful to the book. Too faithful, not gonna lie, I would not have been upset if they had kept some of the people that died in the book alive in the movie, but I guess I can’t get everything I want.

1.) The Babadook (Run Time: 94 minutes, saw it in April & it came out in Australia on May 22nd, 2014)

This movie was required viewing for my Horror class and it did not disappoint. I’m not a huge Horror person (it’s mainly overly gory movies I can’t deal with), but this movie was perfect for a big chicken like me. It was perfectly creepy, suspenseful, and did have some jump scares, but the movie didn’t rely on them to scare the viewer like other films do. The story itself was so interesting and the acting was so good. If you haven’t seen The Babadook, go watch it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

