Eight Female Characters That I Love, But Everyone Else Seems to Hate

We’ve all had that experience when we enter a new fandom and find that character that we immediately fall in love with and they become your favorite. Then when you go online to find fandom related stuff for that character you end up finding nothing, but hate for them. It’s a horrible feeling when you grow attached to a character only to see that the rest of the fandom can not stand them.

So, I’m going to focus on eight characters, female specifically, that from my personal experience it seems that the fandoms that they are a part of seem to hate them for some reason. This is strictly my opinion. You are free to disagree with me, but please do it respectfully. Now, on to the list.

charactersilovebuteveryoneelsehates

[WARNING: THERE MAY BE SPOILERS FROM SOME OF THESE SHOWS.]

The first female character I’m going to talk about is Martha Jones from BBC America’s Doctor Who.

14454473894_1d6e6fbdfc_o

When I started watching Doctor Who, I knew I was going to have to face the fact that I was going to lose Doctors and companions as the show progressed. When I started series three and was introduced to Martha Jones played by Freema Agyeman, I found her character fascinating. As I continued to watch series three I fell in love with Martha’s character. Honestly, Martha was one of the few things I liked about the third series because Ten was so annoying in that series and I hated how he treated Martha, but that’s another topic altogether.
I loved Martha’s character because of how different she was compared to Rose who had just left. Martha was a doctor herself (well technically a doctor in training, but still) which gave her an interesting dynamic with the Doctor and made the way she reacted to all the things she encountered in her season more interesting to me. While she did fall for the Doctor, I liked that she still tried to not let her feelings for him cloud her judgement. Martha was such strong character and wasn’t afraid to do what needed to be done to save herself and the Doctor.
I remember feeling genuinely surprised with how much hate I saw for Martha when I looked her up online. I just couldn’t comprehend how anyone could hate her character. The more I’ve thought about this the more, I’m convinced that the reason that people disliked Martha so much had a lot to do with the fact that she was the unfortunate person to be the companion after Rose left. I feel like it wouldn’t have mattered if the new companion was a total dick, the nicest person in the world, or a total badass, they would have been hated because they came after Rose.
Rose is one, if not the, most beloved companion within the Doctor Who fandom which is where my belief that that’s the main reason that Martha gets so much hate because she came after Rose. I have heard that some believe that the fandom hates Martha because she was in love with the Doctor and if that is the case then that’s stupid as hell considering Rose was in love with him and I don’t see anyone hating her for loving him.
Well, whatever the reason, all I know is I love Martha Jones and the hate she gets is questionable and odd to me.

The next female character I want to talk about is Skyler White from AMC’s Breaking Bad.

Skyler White (Anna Gunn) in the "Breaking Bad" Season 5 episode, "Ozymandias."

My brother and I, last year finally sat down and marathoned the complete series of Breaking Bad. Going into the show we had both heard how great it was, but the number one thing I heard was that I would hate Walter White’s wife Skyler whose played by Anna Gunn. I told my brother this information and we started the show with that thought in mind, but when we finished the series, I found that I didn’t hate Skyler. Actually, I realized that I loved her more than Walt himself.
When I went online to find out why so many people seemed to hate her character I couldn’t help, but roll my eyes at the fact that it seemed that people hated Skyler because she was a “nag”. The seasons before Skyler finds out the truth about Walt, I feel like it’s reasonable that she “nags” Walt because at the time she’s pregnant, has a teenage son with a disability, and her husband has cancer. I’m sorry, but if I was in Skyler’s shoes I’d probably act the same way and would be doing everything in my power to ensure that my family was okay. Which Walt wasn’t helping with by being shady and hiding everything from Skyler which just made her life even more stressful. Then after she finds out the truth, she once again, does the reasonable thing and tries to protect her family. One of my favorite lines delivered by Skyler to Walt, which I feel perfectly sums up her character later in the show is this line:

tumblr_n1fpumhzn01t1e6w6o4_250
(created by rebekkahmikaelson on Tumblr, but they’ve deactivated their account)

This line is perfect because of how true it is. Skyler does everything from sending the kids to live with Hank and Marie to laundering Walt’s money to ensure that her family is safe from both the danger that Walt brings into their lives and Walt himself. Skyler White is such a strong character and Anna Gunn does such a perfect job at portraying Skyler.
Now, I’m not saying that Skyler is perfect because she’s not. She does her fair share of things in the show that are horrible and problematic, but the hate she receives is simply because she’s essentially a character to oppose Walt. While Walt is a great character, he is not a good person. So, it always boggles my mind that people like Walt, but hate Skyler. Especially, if you look at both characters and see that Skyler does everything for her family and while Walt does the same at first, for him it’s all about the thrill, the power, and boosting his ego by appearing to be smarter than everyone else.
I believe the hate Skyler receives is ridiculous and I am the type of person that if you hate Skyler White, you better have a good reason for hating her character besides the fact that she “nags” poor Walt.

The next female character that I want to discuss is Sansa Stark from HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Sansa_Stark_in_Mockingbird

I have heard so many things when it comes to Game of Thrones. From how much I would hate Joffrey (I did hate him and cheered when he died) to how much I would love Tyrion and Daenerys (Love them both, they’re two of my favorite characters), but the other constant was that I would hate Sansa Stark played by Sophie Turner. I watched seasons 1-4 and found myself loving her just as much as I love Tyrion and Daenerys.
Sansa is a character that I feel reacts to things like a normal teenage girl who was raised in an environment of privilege. I feel like one of the reasons that Sansa is so hated is because she is depicted as the spoiled little rich girl that is rude to everyone she perceives as beneath her. While I was annoyed with Sansa in the first season, I never hated her. Then as I continued to watch the show, I grew to love her and it’s because of how different she is compared to the other woman on the show.
You could argue that among the other woman on this show that Sansa is very weak compared to them, but I think she’s as strong as any other woman on the show. Sansa started off as a selfish, spoiled, and naive little girl, but as the show has progressed she has developed into a woman who has a silent strength about her.
I feel like people perceive her as weak because she doesn’t fight back, physically or verbally, like you see other woman do, but it makes sense for her character. She is someone that has learned to play the game and knows what battles to fight and which ones to let go until later. She is the total underdog and an afterthought to most characters. No one expects Sansa to be a threat to anyone or anything, but that’s where her power lies. In the fact that no one views her as a threat. Sansa knows the role she has to play, she knows that she has to present to the world a meek, unsuspecting, stupid, naive child, but that is the last thing she is.
So, when I see hate for Sansa it hurts my heart because I feel like a lot of it stems from the first season version of Sansa. I feel like people haven’t been paying attention to how much she’s grown into such a fantastic character, which saddens me.

Next we’re going to talk about Andrea from AMC’s The Walking Dead.

14454473894_1d6e6fbdfc_o

Andrea, played by Laurie Holden, has always been a character that evoked strong feelings from the audience. Whether that be love, annoyance, or plain hatred, she got a reaction. Now, you could argue I could have used the characters Lori Grimes or Beth Greene for this list because to some they are just as hated and sometimes even more, but from my personal experience I have actually seen more hate for Andrea.
I have always felt bad for Andrea’s character because from my brother, I learned that in the comics Andrea’s character is completely different from the show and she’s a better character in the comics. I feel like the writer’s of the show intentionally wrote Andrea’s character to be hated. From the moment Andrea was introduced, I feel like people didn’t like her. I have always felt that Andrea is a character that was just trying the best she could in this crappy situation, I mean come on, it’s a zombie apocalypse. Cut her some slack.
When season three aired, it felt like the writers really wanted the audience to hate Andrea because they continued to make her make the worst decisions, which as a fan just frustrated me beyond belief. There were so many moments when I felt like Andrea would have seen the obvious in front of her and done something to fix it, but she continued to make the wrong decisions until they killed her off at the end of season three. I was so upset when she died because it felt like the whole point of her character in season three was to be a plot device to ensure the drama between the Governor and the group at the prison.
While I get why some people may hate Andrea’s character, I mainly blame the writers for their writing of her character. It’s annoying when you love a character and the writers do everything in their power to make their audience hate them.

Now, we’re going to kind of focus on the female characters from shows that air on The CW.

To start off we’re going to talk about Laurel Lance from Arrow.
(Disclaimer: I’ve only seen the first two seasons. Haven’t watched season three yet.)

Sansa_Stark_in_Mockingbird

Many of the people I follow online that watched Arrow, I would see constantly complain about Laurel Lance played by Katie Cassidy. So I was expecting to feel the same when I started watching the show, but surprise, surprise, I didn’t hate Laurel. She’s actually one of my favorite characters on the show. She’s like neck and neck with Felicity for my favorite character (Yes I love Laurel and Felicity more than Oliver, actually Diggle’s even higher on my list of favorites than Oliver).
Laurel was a character who did and said things that I felt were understandable. When she hated Oliver, I agreed with her. When she hated the Arrow, I understood her reasoning. I was on her side when she was pissed at Sara because to me is was reasonable for her to feel that anger towards her, like she did for Oliver when he first got back. Hell, I even understood when she became an addict, even though I didn’t agree with that decision, I understood why she turned to pills and alcohol. Laurel is just a woman who is just trying to live her life and help people, but it seems like the fandom wants to condemn her for that. Laurel is such an interesting character and when I watched the first two seasons, her storylines where the most interesting to me.
The hate she gets is weird to me and I don’t understand it. I don’t know if season three changed anyone’s opinion on Laurel and I don’t even know how I’ll feel about Laurel after watching season three, but I’m pretty confident that I’ll still love her.

Next we’re going to focus on Iris West from the Arrow spin off, The Flash.

Sansa_Stark_in_Mockingbird

I was so excited when The CW announced that they were going to make a Flash TV Show, so when the show started airing last Fall, I watched it. I immediately fell in love with all the characters especially Iris and Caitlin. What I wasn’t expecting, and am still confused by, is the apparent hatred some fans have for Iris West played by Candice Patton.
I genuinely do not understand why people hate Iris’s character. Iris acts and reacts to everything on this show like I feel any normal person would. I remember her getting a lot of hate for how she treated everyone for those two episodes after she found out the truth about Barry being The Flash. The hate she received I felt was uncalled for because I felt she reacted like a normal person would.
One of my biggest pet peeves with shows where a character is hiding a big secret from the people they love is when that person finds out and gets pissed, everyone in the fandom hates them. I’m sorry, but I would be pissed if that character learned the secret and was completely fine with being lied to and constantly put in danger.
If you hate Iris could you please explain to me why because I really want to understand why her character get’s hate. It’s a mystery to me and I don’t get it.

Now moving over to vampires, we’re going to start with Camille O’Connell from The Vampire Diaries spin off, The Originals.

The Originals -- "Tangled Up in Blue" -- Image Number: OR103aa_0580.jpg -- Pictured: Leah Pipes as Cami -- Photo: Bob Mahoney/The CW -- © 2013 The CW Network, LLC. All rights reserved

When it comes to The Originals, I could have easily chosen Hayley for this list because I feel like I see as much hate for her as I do for Cami, but this is my list and I’m choosing Cami. Camille O’Connell played by Leah Pipes was my favorite from the first couple episodes I watched. I just loved her confidence and her “take no shit” attitude, especially in scenes with Klaus.
The main reason I think Cami gets hate from the fandom is because she’s the human of the show and is seen as an unneeded character whose only purpose is to be Klaus’ therapist. The other reason I feel she gets hate has to do with Klaus. I think some fans hate how she stands up to Klaus and points out to him how shitty of a person he can be. The other reason has to do with shipping. I feel like a lot of the Cami hate comes from Klayley and Klaroline shippers. They hate her simply because she’s a threat to their ships, which is a stupid reason to hate a character. If you genuinely hate a character then fine, but if you hate a character because they’re a threat to your ship, then that’s just stupid.
Cami’s character is one that I do wish they would more with, though. They seem to right now just be using her as a plot device or as Klaus’ conscience, which is annoying. I want Cami to be just as important to the overall story like the other characters. I want her to have her own story that doesn’t involve Klaus. Don’t get me wrong, I love the interactions and scenes between Cami and Klaus, but I feel like she deserves her own storyline to really show what her character can do.
Cami is a character that I think is hated for both somewhat reasonable and plain unreasonable reasons, but a lot of it is because of the way the writer’s write her. I think if they were to write her better more fans would see the amazing character that I already see.

Normally, I’d start with the show that brought forth The Originals spin off, but I have a lot to say about the last character on my list, Bonnie Bennett from The Vampire Diaries.

14454473894_1d6e6fbdfc_o

Before I watched the show, I was a fan of the books that the show is based on and my favorite characters in the books, and the only reason I kept reading them, were Bonnie McCullough and Damon Salvatore. When the show started I was excited because I was to see see different versions/interpretations of Bonnie and Damon. From the very first episode, I was in love with Bonnie Bennett played by Kat Graham. She has been the main reason I fell in love with the show and why I continued to keep up to date on everything that was happening in the show even when I stopped watching it after the season three finale.
The hate that the fandom has for Bonnie is so ridiculous. A lot of it stems from the fact that for such a long time on the show she was always at odds with Damon and using her powers on him which made fans hate her because apparently if you hurt Damon you are automatically hated. Now, I love Damon, but a lot of the times that Bonnie has used her powers on him, he has deserved it. Damon is and can be a dick and Bonnie isn’t afraid to put him in his place or call him out on it, which is why she’s hated.
Another reason she’s hated, like Cami, has to do with shipping. People hate her character for the simple fact that a lot of people ship her with Damon, which threatens the Delena ship. The Delena fandom is afraid that the Bamon ship is a threat to their ship, so they hate Bonnie because of that.
The other reason they hate Bonnie is because she is constantly used as a plot device to further the story or to save Elena. The writer’s have never really given a damn about Bonnie’s character, which is why so many fans don’t connect with her character and hate her. Bonnie’s character has always been expendable and the show has shown many times that Elena’s, and even Caroline’s sometimes, life is more important than Bonnie’s. Her role on the show has always been to either cast a spell to fix everything or sacrifice herself for Elena. Which is why I loved in the season 6 finale, Elena finally sacrificed herself for Bonnie.
The hate for Bonnie has always angered me because it seems that a lot of fans like to forget if it weren’t for Bonnie Bennett a lot of their favorite characters would have died a long time ago.

So, to wrap this up, I’d like to repeat that this is my opinion and how I view the opinion and treatment of these characters that I have personally witnessed online. If you agree with me, awesome. If you disagree, that’s fine, but I’d like to know why. Have you ever had this same experience? Where you just loved a character that it seems the fandom hates with a fiery passion?
Let’s discuss this!

2 thoughts on “Eight Female Characters That I Love, But Everyone Else Seems to Hate

  1. Tatiana says:

    I love this so much! So many female characters get unwarranted hate for not living up to the impossible expectations that audiences set for them. If you’ll notice, male characters rarely if ever inspire the same kind of hateful and aggressive reaction that perfectly good and wonderful female characters do. There’s only one explanation for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • randommunchkin says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s frustrating how people do have this idea of what the perfect female character should be and if you don’t fit it you’re hated. I know what you mean. There have been plenty of times I’ve watched a show and watched a male character do something problematic and then go online to see them praised, but if a female character doesn’t really do anything wrong/one little thing wrong, then they’re persecuted.
      It’s annoying, ridiculous, and needs to stop.

      Like

Leave a Reply

