Movie Review: “If I Stay”

14454473894_1d6e6fbdfc_o

[This review will include spoilers, continue reading at your own risk]

Going into this movie, I will say that I have not read the book. I own the book, but I just haven’t gotten around to reading it. So, now that we’ve gotten that out of the way. I did like the movie, I wouldn’t say that I loved it, but enjoyed it? Yes.

If you don’t know, If I Stay is a movie about a girl named Mia, who gets into a car accident that claims the lives of her parents and younger brother. The main point of this movie is to show you the struggle Mia is facing with her having to choose between dying and being with her family that has also past, or living and facing the reality that she’s lost her family. Also, throughout the film you learn more about Mia through flashbacks of her life and more specifically, her relationship with her boyfriend Adam.

Even before I started the movie I had a feeling that Mia would choose to live, which she does, but a part of me feels conflicted about her decision to live. I’m not upset about her reason to stay, you know her friends, her other family, and of course Adam, but personally if I was Mia, I don’t know if I’d be able to live with the fact that I had lost my family. I do think it’s brave of Mia’s character to decide to live, given how much heartache she’s going to face.

My only grip and complaint about this movie is the ending. Like I said above, I don’t know how the book ends, so maybe I’ll feel the same way when I read the book about it’s ending like I do about the movie ending. The movie’s ending left me so unsatisfied. Her choosing to live, opening her eyes, seeing Adam, and then the movie is over? Are you kidding me? What?! I just wish there had been a couple more minutes or even an epilogue kind of scene to just show how Mia is processing everything.

So, overall, I liked and enjoyed the movie and I would give the movie: 3.8outof5Stars

Leave a Reply

